top of page
  • Writer's pictureclilyartistspace-Writing

40 years old

Updated: Jul 5, 2021

Almost 40 years old.


I did not expect,

for this

to be

the time

for me

to grow.


Life lessons have taught me,

the process may never end.


But I truly believe,

I have shed my last skin.


Moved past,

the broken bits

of a

fledgling

cocoon


Relinquished

artefacts

of a child

cracked

too

soon


Relinquished

the hope

that the glue

would come soon


Relinquished

the hope

that everything

would resume.


My grandmother is back,

the world is uncracked,

everything else can return

fully in tact.



Not yet 40 years old

and I've learned to let go,

of everything

I was

expected to hold


Almost 40 years old

and growing so bold

as to acknowldge

the harm

and

neglect to me.


40 years old

and I'm willing to hold

everything

that is

most dear

to me.



30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page