top of page
  • Writer's pictureclilyartistspace-Writing

Cry. Cry. Bye.

I heard the door close

I assumed you left





sadness.




a

close

closed

sad



sadness.




slow breath.



 


she cried and cried and cried.


she looked out the back window and cried.

her little head peeking over the back of the seat.


crying, crying

until

she

turned away

and

fell

asleep.



curled up

in

the

back seat.



when I left my grandparents

I never wanted to leave

seeing them through the window

fading in the window

fading in the distance


why did we have to go?


I cried every time

I thought it was normal


This is just how goes?


I can still see them waving

from the front steps

the white house in the background

framing them as I wept.


I looked back and kept crying.


cry, cry cry.


I looked back and kept crying.


cry.cry.bye.


Dec. 20


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page